Manslaughter Defense

Manslaughter Defense

Unlike other homicide and murder charges, which may be capital and first-degree felonies, Manslaughter is considered a second-degree felony in the state of Texas.  Manslaughter usually implies some level of lessened blame or culpability.

Unlike murder cases, manslaughter cases generally have no accusation of premeditation or planning on the part of the accused individual.  Instead, the actor will often be accused of acting recklessly or failing to consider the risks.

In Texas, Manslaughter is defined as an offense a person commits when he or she "recklessly causes the death of an individual."  The key to a manslaughter charge is that causation must be shown, as in the death was caused by your reckless behavior.  Reckless is one step above negligent but one step below intentional.  Reckless behavior can be characterized as not only an actual act but can also be a failure to act.

Manslaughter Penalties

If you are charged with allegedly causing the death of another person by driving in a reckless manner, you could be facing a second-degree felony punishable by confinement in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice - Institutional Division (State Prison) for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 20 years along with a fine up to $10,000.

Contact Denuna Law Firm Today

If you're accused of recklessly taking the life of another, you need to Call Chris immediately for a free consultation to form and strategize your defense. Chris will break down the different tactics, time, and work it'll take to protect your name, career, and freedom! We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Experienced DWI
Defense Lawyer

If you have a case and want an attorney who will instill fear in the prosecution and DA, call or message Chris today!